TTS API pricing 2026: what 1M, 10M and 100M characters a month really cost

Monthly cost of 13 text-to-speech APIs at 1M, 10M and 100M characters, subscription fees included, read from each vendor's pricing page on 23 September 2026, next to each model's blind-listening score.

Engineering and research · SpeechifyAI
6 min read

Most TTS pricing comparisons quote a rate per million characters and stop there. That rate is not what you pay: subscription fees, included usage and plan tiers change the monthly bill, and five different billing units are in use across the market. This post does the arithmetic for three real volumes, 1M, 10M and 100M characters in a month, picks the cheapest plan each provider sells at each volume, and puts each model’s blind-listening score beside its price.

The short version: among providers that publish a per-character price, SpeechifyAI is the cheapest at all three volumes, at $10, $91 and $631 a month. The next cheapest costs 1.5 times as much at 1M, 1.65 times at 10M and 1.9 times at 100M. And the cheap alternatives score far lower in blind listening, while Simba 3.2 sits in the top five of 92 models. Evidence, read 23 September 2026: pricing snapshot and leaderboard snapshot.

Monthly cost at 10M characters

What 10 million characters a month costs, subscription included

The cheapest self-serve plan each provider sells at that volume, read from its own pricing page on 23 Sep 2026.

  1. SpeechifyAI Simba 3.2$91
  2. Azure Neural TTS$150
  3. OpenAI tts-1$150
  4. VUI Labs Luna TTS$150
  5. Amazon Polly Neural$160
  6. Inworld Realtime TTS-2$175
  7. Alibaba Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus$200
  8. Cartesia Sonic 3.6$299+
  9. Deepgram Aura-2$300
  10. Amazon Polly Generative$300
  11. ElevenLabs Flash v2.5$500
  12. ElevenLabs Eleven v3$1,000
  13. MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD$1,000

Cartesia Sonic 3.6 publishes no overage rate, so its bar is the $299 plan fee alone, a floor. Google's Gemini TTS and OpenAI's gpt-4o-mini-tts bill per token and are not charted. Every figure and its source page: our reviewed pricing snapshot.

Monthly cost at 1M, 10M and 100M characters

Sorted by the cost at 10M characters. Elo is the blind-listening score from the Artificial Analysis Speech Arena, read 23 September 2026 and kept as our reviewed snapshot of the full board.

Provider and model Elo 1M chars 10M chars 100M chars
SpeechifyAI Simba 3.2 1,237 $10 $91 $631
Azure Neural TTS 1,031 $15 $150 $1,200
OpenAI tts-1 1,086 $15 $150 $1,500
VUI Labs Luna TTS 1,230 $15 $150 $1,500
Amazon Polly Neural 890 $16 $160 $1,600
Inworld Realtime TTS-2 1,245 $25 $175 $1,500
Alibaba Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus 1,259 $20 $200 $2,000
Deepgram Aura-2 not rated $30 $300 $2,700
Amazon Polly Generative 1,061 $30 $300 $3,000
Cartesia Sonic 3.6 1,273 $49 $299 plus overage contact sales
ElevenLabs Flash v2.5 1,074 $50 $500 $5,000
ElevenLabs Eleven v3 1,167 $100 $1,000 $10,000
MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD 1,168 $100 $1,000 $10,000

Cheapest self-serve plan at each volume, subscription fees included, US dollars, before tax. Azure is the East US price. Deepgram’s 100M figure uses its Growth rate, which needs $4,000 or more prepaid a year. Cartesia does not publish its overage rate, so its 10M figure is a floor. Deepgram Aura-2 is not on the Artificial Analysis board. Google’s Gemini TTS and OpenAI’s gpt-4o-mini-tts bill per token and are covered separately below. Every competitor figure and the page it came from: our reviewed pricing snapshot.

Price against quality

Price against quality

Nothing is both cheaper than Simba 3.2 and rated higher

Monthly cost at 10M characters against each model's Artificial Analysis blind-listening score, both read on 23 Sep 2026. The shaded corner is everything cheaper than Simba 3.2 and rated above it. It is empty.

SpeechifyAI Simba 3.2: $91 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1237. Azure Neural TTS: $150 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1031. OpenAI tts-1: $150 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1086. VUI Labs Luna TTS: $150 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1230. Amazon Polly Neural: $160 a month at 10M characters, Elo 890. Inworld Realtime TTS-2: $175 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1245. Alibaba Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus: $200 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1259. Cartesia Sonic 3.6: from $299 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1273. Amazon Polly Generative: $300 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1061. ElevenLabs Flash v2.5: $500 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1074. ElevenLabs Eleven v3: $1,000 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1167. MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD: $1,000 a month at 10M characters, Elo 1168.Cheaper and rated higher: none9001,0001,1001,2001,300$100$200$500$1,000Monthly cost at 10M characters (log scale)Blind-listening score (Elo)Simba 3.2Azure Neuraltts-1LunaPolly NeuralInworld TTS-2QwenSonic 3.6 (from $299)Polly GenerativeFlash v2.5Eleven v3, MiniMax 2.8 HD

Scores from SpeechifyAI's reviewed snapshot of the Artificial Analysis board, read 23 Sep 2026. Deepgram Aura-2 is not on the board, so it has no score to plot. Cartesia Sonic 3.6 publishes no overage rate; its point is the $299 plan fee, a floor. ElevenLabs Eleven v3 ($1,000, 1,167) and MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD ($1,000, 1,168) overlap.

The cheapest alternatives are also the lowest-rated. Azure Neural (1,031), OpenAI’s tts-1 (1,086) and Amazon Polly Neural (890) cost 1.6 to 1.8 times what SpeechifyAI does at 10M characters and score 150 to 350 points lower in blind listening. Evidence, read 23 September 2026: pricing snapshot and leaderboard snapshot.

The alternatives rated above 1,200 cost more still, on the same pricing and leaderboard snapshots. At 10M characters a month:

  • VUI Labs’ Luna (1,230) is $150, 1.6 times as much.
  • Inworld’s Realtime TTS-2 (1,245) is $175, 1.9 times as much.
  • Alibaba’s Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus (1,259) is $200, 2.2 times as much.
  • Cartesia’s Sonic 3.6 (1,273), the top score on the board, is $299 before overage, at least 3.3 times as much.

Simba 3.2 is the only model in the board’s top five that costs under $15 per million characters, on Artificial Analysis’s normalized prices in the leaderboard snapshot. For how the top of the board compares on quality alone, see our TTS API comparison.

Token-priced models: Gemini TTS and gpt-4o-mini-tts

Google and OpenAI bill their newest TTS models per token, which cannot be turned into a per-character price from their own pages. Scores are from the leaderboard snapshot:

  • Google Gemini 3.8 Flash TTS (Elo 1,260) costs $0.50 per million text-input tokens and $9 per million audio-output tokens through 31 December 2026, then $1 and $18. Gemini 3.8 Flash-Lite TTS (1,235) costs $0.50 and $6, then $1 and $12. Audio is metered at 25 tokens per second.
  • OpenAI gpt-4o-mini-tts costs $0.60 per million text-input tokens and $12 per million audio-output tokens.

Neither vendor publishes how many characters a second of audio carries, so any per-character figure is an estimate. Artificial Analysis publishes one: $16.50 per million characters for Gemini 3.8 Flash TTS and $11.00 for Flash-Lite, in line with Google’s 2027 rates (23 Sep snapshot). On that estimate, 10M characters a month costs about $165 on Gemini 3.8 Flash and $110 on Flash-Lite from January 2027, and about half that until then. That makes Gemini 3.8 Flash-Lite, at a score two points below Simba 3.2, the one model near the top that costs less than SpeechifyAI for the rest of 2026.

Free tiers

Provider Free allowance Commercial use
SpeechifyAI 500,000 characters a month, no card Yes
Amazon Polly 1M Neural characters a month, first 12 months of a new AWS account Not stated
Azure Speech 0.5M characters a month on the F0 tier Not stated
Google Gemini API Free tier, rate-limited; content used to improve Google’s products Not stated
ElevenLabs 10,000 characters a month No
Cartesia 20,000 credits a month No
Deepgram $200 one-time credit Not stated
VUI Labs 10,000 characters, one time Not stated

SpeechifyAI’s plans at each volume

Each SpeechifyAI plan is a monthly fee that buys a usage credit, then a per-character rate beyond it. The cheapest plan changes with volume:

Monthly volume Cheapest plan Monthly cost Effective rate per 1M
1M characters Starter ($10, 1.9M characters included, then $10 per 1M) $10 $10.00
10M characters Starter $91 $9.10
100M characters Scale ($499, 78M characters included, then $6 per 1M) $631 $6.31

Starter is the cheapest plan up to about 10.8M characters a month, Pro ($99, 13.5M characters included, then $8 per 1M) from there to about 63.5M, and Scale above that. The free plan covers 500,000 characters a month and pauses at the cap. Full details are on the pricing page, and how TTS pricing works explains per-character billing.

How each figure was built

For every provider and volume we took the vendor’s published plans, added the subscription fee to the usage beyond what the plan includes at that plan’s rate, and kept the cheapest result.

Provider Plan at 10M Working at 10M
SpeechifyAI Starter $10 + (10M - 1.9M) x $10 per 1M = $91
Azure Neural Pay as you go 10M x $15 per 1M = $150
OpenAI tts-1 Pay as you go 10M x $15 per 1M = $150
VUI Labs Luna Pay as you go 10M x $15 per 1M = $150
Amazon Polly Neural Pay as you go 10M x $16 per 1M = $160
Inworld Realtime TTS-2 Builder $100 + (10M - 5.7M) x $17.50 per 1M = $175
Alibaba Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus Pay as you go 10M x $20 per 1M = $200
Deepgram Aura-2 Pay as you go 10M x $30 per 1M = $300
Amazon Polly Generative Pay as you go 10M x $30 per 1M = $300
Cartesia Sonic 3.6 Scale $299 covers about 8M; overage rate not published
ElevenLabs Flash v2.5 API 10M x $50 per 1M = $500
ElevenLabs Eleven v3 API 10M x $100 per 1M = $1,000
MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD Pay as you go 10M x $100 per 1M = $1,000

At 100M the plans change: Azure’s 80M commitment tier ($960, then $12 per 1M) comes to $1,200, Inworld’s Developer plan ($300, then $15 per 1M) to $1,500, Deepgram’s Growth rate ($27 per 1M, prepaid yearly) to $2,700, and SpeechifyAI’s Scale plan to $631. Alibaba’s own model page lists Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus at $20 per million characters; Artificial Analysis’s estimate is $27.60. Enterprise contracts, taxes and regional price differences are out of scope.

Start with the cheapest one that sounds right

Price only matters once the voice is good enough for your product, so listen before you commit. You can start free with 500,000 characters a month, no card, and run your own text through Simba 3.2 before you pay anything.

FAQ

Common questions

What is the cheapest text-to-speech API in 2026?
Among providers that publish a per-character price, SpeechifyAI is the cheapest at 1M, 10M and 100M characters a month as of 23 September 2026: $10, $91 and $631, against $15, $150 and $1,200 for the next cheapest. It also scores 1,237 on Artificial Analysis's blind-listening board, fifth of 92, where Azure Neural scores 1,031 and OpenAI's tts-1 1,086. Google bills Gemini TTS per token, and on Artificial Analysis's conversion Gemini 3.8 Flash-Lite costs less through 31 December 2026.
How much does a TTS API cost for 10 million characters a month?
Read from each vendor's pricing page on 23 September 2026, subscription fees included: $91 on SpeechifyAI, $150 on Azure Neural, OpenAI tts-1 or VUI Labs' Luna, $160 on Amazon Polly Neural, $175 on Inworld Realtime TTS-2, $200 on Alibaba's Qwen-Audio-3.0-TTS-Plus, $300 on Deepgram Aura-2, $500 on ElevenLabs Flash v2.5 and $1,000 on Eleven v3 or MiniMax Speech 2.8 HD. Cartesia's Scale plan starts at $299 and does not publish its overage rate.
Is a cheaper TTS API lower quality?
Often. On Artificial Analysis's blind-listening board (23 September 2026), the cheapest per-character APIs score lowest: Amazon Polly Neural 890, Azure Neural 1,031, OpenAI tts-1 1,086. SpeechifyAI's Simba 3.2 scores 1,237, fifth of 92, and it is the only model in the top five priced under $15 per million characters, from $10 on Starter down to $6 on Scale.
Why can't Gemini TTS or gpt-4o-mini-tts be priced per character?
Both bill per token. Google charges per million audio-output tokens and meters audio at 25 tokens per second; OpenAI charges $12 per million audio-output tokens for gpt-4o-mini-tts. Neither publishes how many characters a second of audio carries, so a per-character figure is an estimate. Artificial Analysis publishes one, which this post quotes as its estimate.
Which free TTS API tiers allow commercial use?
As of 23 September 2026: SpeechifyAI's free plan includes 500,000 characters a month with commercial use and no card. ElevenLabs' and Cartesia's free plans exclude commercial use. Amazon Polly gives new AWS accounts 1M Neural characters a month for their first 12 months, and Azure's F0 tier 0.5M a month. Google's Gemini free tier uses your content to improve its products.

Privacy preferences

Choose what we may store on this device. You can change this at any time from the footer.

Strictly necessary

Sign-in, security, load balancing, and remembering your privacy choices. These cannot be switched off.

Always on

Analytics

How the site is used in aggregate - which pages get read, where people get stuck - so we can improve it.

Marketing

Measures which campaigns bring people here, and lets us show relevant ads on other platforms.